## **ANNEX B**

## **CONSTITUTION AND MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES - 2019/20**

## **Notes:**

- (i) the Council is required to make appointments to Committees in accordance with statutory political balance requirements and to give effect to the wishes of political groups;
- (ii) substitute Members can be appointed to the Overview and Scrutiny, Employment, Licensing and Regulatory, Planning, and Standards Committees. The Council's Constitution provides for no limitation on the number of substitutes but Executive Members cannot by law be appointed in respect of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee. Effective from the 2019/20 Municipal Year the Council has put in place a change to the Constitution that prevents Executive Members serving on the Planning Committee as either full or substitute Members. The Constitution also indicates that Group Leaders will be expected to ensure that nominated substitutes have received appropriate training on the role and functions of the relevant Committee.)

# Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Politically Balanced – Executive Members cannot be appointed to this Committee) 15 Members

Political Group		Councillors	
1.	Conservative	Cllr Rosemary Absalom	
2.	Conservative	Cllr Michael Blacker	
3.	Conservative	Cllr Giorgio Buttironi	
4.	Conservative	Cllr Jerry Hudson	
5.	Conservative	Cllr Frank Kelly	
6.	Conservative	Cllr James King	
7.	Conservative	Cllr Caroline Neame	
8.	Conservative	Cllr Simon Parnall	
9.	Conservative	Cllr Rachel Turner	
10.	Conservative	Cllr Sam Walsh	
11.	Residents' Association	Cllr Nick Harrison	
12.	Residents' Association	Cllr Ross Feeney	
13.	Green	Cllr Jonathan Essex	
14.	Green	Cllr Sue Sinden	
15.	Liberal Democrat	Cllr Jane Philpott	

## **Substitutes:**

Conservative Cllr Derek Allcard, Cllr Rich Michalowski, Cllr Nadean

Moses, Cllr Kanika Sachdeva and Cllr Christian Stevens

Whinney

Green Cllr Hal Brown, Cllr Sue Fenton, Cllr Steve McKenna and

Cllr Ruth Ritter

Liberal Democrat Cllr Steve Kulka

# **Employment Committee** (Politically Balanced – must include at least one Executive Member) **5 Members**

Political Group		Councillors	
1.	Conservative	Cllr Mark Brunt	
2.	Conservative	Cllr Victor Lewanski	
3.	Conservative	Cllr Caroline Neame	
4.	Residents' Association	Cllr Jill Bray	
5.	Green	Cllr Steve McKenna	

#### Substitutes:

Conservative Cllr Jamie Paul, Cllr Tony Schofield and Cllr Rachel Turner

Residents Association Cllr Bob Harper, Cllr Nick Harrison and Cllr Ross Feeney

Green Cllr Jonathan Essex

**Planning Committee** (Politically Balanced) **15 Members** – Membership should be broadly representative of the geographic coverage of the Borough (excluding Members of the Executive).

Political Group		Councillors	
1.	Conservative	Cllr Derek Allcard	
2.	Conservative	Cllr Michael Blacker	
3.	Conservative	Cllr Jerry Hudson	
4.	Conservative	Cllr Frank Kelly	
5.	Conservative	Cllr James King	
6.	Conservative	Cllr Rich Michalowski	
7.	Conservative	Cllr Simon Parnall	
8.	Conservative	Cllr Christian Stevens	
9.	Conservative	Cllr Rachel Turner	
10.	Conservative	Cllr Sam Walsh	
11.	Residents' Association	Cllr Jill Bray	
12.	Residents' Association	Cllr Peter Harp	
13.	Green	Cllr Hal Brown	
14.	Green	Cllr Steve McKenna	
15.	Liberal Democrat	Cllr Steve Kulka	

### Substitutes:

Conservative Cllr Rosemary Absalom, Cllr Nadean Moses, Cllr Jamie

Paul and Cllr Kanika Sachdeva,

Residents' Association Cllr Gemma Adamson, Cllr Bob Harper, Cllr Ross Feeney,

Cllr Nick Harrison and Cllr Christopher Whinney

Green Cllr Jonathan Essex, Cllr Sue Fenton, Cllr Ruth Ritter and

Cllr Sue Sinden

Liberal Democrat Cllr David Ross

## Licensing and Regulatory Committee (Politically Balanced) 12 Members

Political Group		Councillors	
1.	Conservative	Cllr Rosemary Absalom	
2.	Conservative	Cllr Giorgio Buttironi	
3.	Conservative	Cllr Frank Kelly	
4.	Conservative	Cllr Andy Lynch	
5.	Conservative	Cllr Rich Michalowski	
6.	Conservative	Cllr Nadean Moses	
7.	Conservative	Cllr Caroline Neame	
8.	Conservative	Cllr Simon Rickman	
9.	Residents' Association	Cllr Bob Harper	
10.	Residents' Association	Cllr Ross Feeney	
11.	Green	Cllr Sue Fenton	
12.	Liberal Democrat	Cllr David Ross	

## Substitutes:

Conservative Cllr Christian Stevens,

Green Clir Hal Brown, Clir Jonathan Essex, Clir Steve McKenna

and Cllr Ruth Ritter

Liberal Democrat Cllr Jane Philpott

**Standards Committee** (5 Members – Politically balanced, together with non-voting co-opted Members).

Political Group		Councillors
1.	Conservative	Cllr Tim Archer
2.	Conservative	Cllr Simon Rickman
3.	Conservative	Cllr Rachel Turner
4.	Residents' Association	Cllr Nick Harrison
5.	Green	Cllr Jonathan Essex
6.	Salfords and Sidlow Parish Council	Cllr Jill Ashton
7.	Horley Town Council	Cllr David Powell

### Substitutes:

Conservative Cllr Derek Allcard, Cllr Michael Blacker, Cllr Mark Brunt,

Cllr Giorgio Buttironi and Cllr Sam Walsh

Green Cllr Steve McKenna